domenica 22 ottobre 2017

«Cuius est imago haec?»



Today’s gospel is about politics! To understand it, it can be useful to say something about the political situation of Palestine in Jesus’ time. It was not an independent State, but just a province of the Roman Empire. It was divided into different regions; some of them under a puppet king (or “tetrarch”), like Galilee, ruled by Herod Antipas, and Ituraea, under his brother Philip; others, like Judea and Samaria, directly depending on Rome and ruled by a governor (at that time, Pontius Pilate). The Jews had different positions on Roman rule; there were different parties; two of them are mentioned in today’s gospel. The Herodians, so called because supporters of king Herod Antipas, were in favor of the Romans. The Zealots, instead, opposed the Romans and sought to overthrow their authority even resorting to terrorist attacks. Then there were the Pharisees, who also were against the Romans, but without employing violence.

giovedì 19 ottobre 2017

«Io ho le chiavi»



In un articolo pubblicato ieri su OnePeterFive, Maike Hickson (foto) si chiede: “Potrebbe l’aneddoto raccontato sulla rivista dei Cappuccini essere la chiave per svelare i piani del Papa sull’ordinazione delle donne?”.

lunedì 16 ottobre 2017

“Sensus fidelium” e scollamento ecclesiale



Come annunciato, venerdí scorso, 13 ottobre, è stato compiuto l’Atto di consacrazione della Missione e di tutto l’Afghanistan al Cuore Immacolato di Maria. Ne ha riferito AsiaNews, per cui non starò qui a ripetermi.

domenica 15 ottobre 2017

«Non fuerunt digni»



We have just finished reading the last of the three parables told by Jesus in the temple of Jerusalem against the religious leaders of the people—chief priests, elders and Pharisees. This time Jesus does not speak of a vineyard, but of a wedding feast. Even in this case, it is not a new image; it was already used in the old testament to portray final salvation. We have heard, in the first reading, the prophet Isaiah speaking of a banquet prepared by God for all peoples. Now Jesus takes up the same metaphor as a symbol of the kingdom of heaven.

giovedì 12 ottobre 2017

Consacrazione al Cuore Immacolato



Domani, venerdí 13 ottobre, centesimo anniversario dell'ultima apparizione della Vergine a Fatima, nella chiesa della Missione, ci consacreremo al Cuore Immacolato di Maria. Per chi può unirsi a noi spiritualmente, questo è l’orario:

17:00 (12:30 UTC; 14:30 Roma; 08:30 New York): SANTO ROSARIO
17:30 (13:00 UTC; 15:00 Roma; 09:00 New York): SANTA MESSA
18:00 (13:30 UTC; 15:30 Roma; 09:30 New York): ATTO DI CONSACRAZIONE

domenica 8 ottobre 2017

«Hic factus est in caput anguli»



Jesus is still in the temple, arguing with the chief priests and the elders of the people. He tells the second of the three polemical parables against them. We heard the first one (the Two Sons) last week; we will read the third one (the Wedding Feast) on next Sunday.

sabato 7 ottobre 2017

Censure liturgiche



La liturgia di questa XXVII domenica del tempo ordinario propone la parabola dei vignaioli omicidi nella versione di Matteo (21:33-43). Si tratta della seconda delle tre parabole che Gesú racconta nel tempio di Gerusalemme durante la sua disputa con i capi dei sacerdoti e gli anziani del popolo. La prima (“I due figli”), l’abbiamo sentita domenica scorsa; la terza (“Il banchetto nuziale”) ci verrà proposta domenica prossima.

lunedì 2 ottobre 2017

Quando viene buono il latino



Nel mio post del 27 aprile 2016, a proposito dell’esortazione apostolica Evangelii gaudium, scrivevo:
Nonostante il titolo latino, che di per sé dovrebbe riprendere le prime parole del documento, non esiste il testo latino di Evangelii gaudium. Non solo non lo si trova sul sito della Santa Sede, ma neppure negli Acta Apostolicae Sedis, dove è stato pubblicato esclusivamente il testo italiano (vol. 105/2013, pp. 1019-1137) È lecito supporre che anche Amoris laetitia non verrà mai tradotta in latino.

domenica 1 ottobre 2017

«Paenitentia motus abiit»



Jesus is in Jerusalem by now. He has made his triumphal entry into the Holy City and has begun to teach in the temple. And there immediately start disputes between him and the religious leaders—in this case the chief priests and the elders of the people. Among the controversies, Jesus tells three polemical parables. We have read today the first of them; we will read the other two on the following Sundays.